contrast
  1. A difference in lightness, brightness and/or hue between two colours that makes them more or less distinguishable.

I know very little (nothing) about photography. Many of the pictures on my phone are of my own feet and the once-in-a-lifetime videos end up being a picture or vice versa.

But I know that when I want to edit my photos, the option that gives me the best results is “Contrast”.  Each picture is enhanced by the marked difference in colour between object and background or even different objects.

My “Homepage” image for this blog is an example of this. We took this picture in Lyme Regis in the UK on our first holiday as a family of four and it evokes memories of a cramped little corner of heaven with the ocean as far as you can see:

IMG_3129.JPG

My brilliant husband edited it and came up with this:

cropped-cropped-img_0137.jpg

The colours bounce off the page and the boats remind me of toys.  One of the reasons for this is the contrast in the colours between the water and the boats and between the different parts of the boats. It is now one of my favourite pictures.

Where am I going with this?

The last few weeks marked an ugly (but necessary) exposing of racism in South Africa. Of overt and covert hatred and disdain towards those who are different to us. White and black South Africans united in our denunciation of the comments made. A witch-hunt followed and will probably continue for a while.

The fact is that in South Africa and everywhere in the world there are racists. The overt,  who comment on every picture on Facebook or news articles with hateful, ignorant blather. And the covert, who don’t say anything, but snicker along. I am not proud to say that I did that myself growing up.

I have always said that South Africa is so special because we can laugh at ourselves. At our differences. I love watching Trevor Noah because he has such a unique right to make fun of us and himself.  He has tasted both sides of the mealie (corn on the cob) as such. The mealie from the conga (fire made in a drum) as well as the super-sweet, sweetcorn from Woolworths.

Not for one minute do I dare compare my upbringing to the difficulty and humiliation other people experienced and still experience in this country. And I am definitely not saying: “Get over it,” because people have lost their families to violent senseless crimes perpetrated by black and white people.

But for my children and future grandchildren’s sakes (and I dare to say, yours), I have to believe that there are more places where our differences enhance the picture of our country more than detract from it.

Where our contrasts make the picture of our beautiful country, breathtaking.

And I am determined to find them. Who’s with me?

Some references from the Bible for further study for Christians:

Proverbs 22:2 – The rich and the poor have a common bond, The LORD is the maker of them all.
Proverbs 24:23 – These also are sayings of the wise To show partiality in judgment is not good.
Proverbs 29:13 – The poor man and the oppressor have this in common: The LORD gives light to the eyes of both.
Acts 10:28 – And he said to them, “You yourselves know how unlawful it is for a man who is a Jew to associate with a foreigner or to visit him; and yet God has shown me that I should not call any man unholy or unclean.
Acts 10:34-35 – Opening his mouth, Peter said: “I most certainly understand now that God is not one to show partiality, but in every nation the man who fears Him and does what is right is welcome to Him.
Acts 17:26 – and He made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined their appointed times and the boundaries of their habitation,
Romans 10:12-13 – For there is no distinction between Jew and Greek; for the same Lord is Lord of all, abounding in riches for all who call on Him; for “WHOEVER WILL CALL ON THE NAME OF THE LORD WILL BE SAVED.”
1 John 2:9 ESV – Whoever says he is in the light and hates his brother is still in darkness.

 

 

 

 

