You can find Part 1 of this Series on Insecurity here and Part 2 here

 

The last two thoughts I have on Insecurity, are more practical:

  • Ask Questions

I received this advice from a friend whose brilliant, acerbic humour is a mask too.

If you are in a new or uncomfortable situation where you have to speak to people, ask questions.

Any questions about their life, where they grew up etc.  It may sound simple, but it works. The idea is that it keeps the other person talking while you build up your courage.  And people really want to be listened to, so make sure you listen to what they are saying i.e. don’t look around.

In London,  I met many people I count to be amongst my best friends today, on the school playground or on the bus. My husband used to tease me about it all the time and I still marvel at the fact that it was even possible because I would never have done that ten years ago.  And almost every time, I would follow my friend’s advice and ask lots of questions.  Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t being fake.  But because it was not in my nature I had to be intentional about asking questions.

So, ask questions.  People like to know that you are interested in them.

  • Watch what we Teach our Children

My oldest son is amazing. He is the kindest, most gentle soul there is. His reservoir for empathy is limitless and I love him for that. But…

Somewhere along the line, I taught him that everyone else’s needs are more important than his. It wasn’t on purpose. I suppose I thought it was a very ‘Christian’ way to live.

But that is not what God had planned for us. He created us to live a life of purpose. Not hiding in the shadows.

Now I am slowly teaching him (and myself) to be humble and bold. To say NO, but kindly. And to say YES and mean it.  And that he deserves to be treated with love and dignity and respect by his friends and peers.

 

I hope this series has been helpful and I don’t want you to lose sight of the most important point I am trying to make here:

You are worth more than you think. The God who made the Universe has a plan and a purpose specifically for your life. And Insecurity is the lie the evil one created to keep you from that.

But don’t just believe me.

Psalm 139: 13-16 in The Message Bible says it perfectly:

Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out;
    you formed me in my mother’s womb.
I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking!
    Body and soul, I am marvelously made!
    I worship in adoration—what a creation!
You know me inside and out,
    you know every bone in my body;
You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit,
    how I was sculpted from nothing into something.
Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth;
    all the stages of my life were spread out before you,
The days of my life all prepared
    before I’d even lived one day.

I would love to hear from you in the Comments below or via the Contact page, whether you found this series helpful or not.

